Our Staff

Dave Black : General Manager

General Manager

Dave Black

Dave Black : General Manager

General Manager

Dave Blackgm@wsum.wisc.edu
262-9542

The General Manager oversees all station business and staff. Dave manages most everything with superhuman ability...and multiple phones.

Laura Gutknecht : Engineer

Engineer

Laura Gutknecht

Laura Gutknecht : Engineer

Engineer

Laura Gutknechttech@wsum.wisc.edu
890-2436

Laura, as WSUM's engineer ensures our radio signals transmit properly between the station's antennas and WSUM's transmitter and warrants that no interference interrupts broadcast signals. On a daily basis she maintains all of the station's technical updates.

Syd the Snake : Station Mascot

Station Mascot

Syd the Snake

Syd the Snake : Station Mascot

Station Mascot

Syd the Snake

Syd keeps the vibes right and morale high at the station. Each month, an exceptional DJ is recognized and gets to watch over WSUM's loyal companion. Syd is the one and only, Snake on the Lake.

Alice Alexeeva : Station Manager

Station Manager

Alice Alexeeva

Alice Alexeeva : Station Manager

Station Manager

Alice Alexeevawsum@wsum.wisc.edu
262-1864

The Station Manager of WSUM maintains and improves the effectiveness of the radio station's on-air and off-air presence. Elected by her peers to run the station for one year, the station manager is a very demanding position requiring patience, stamina, and decisiveness.

Tyler Dallman : Program Director

Program Director

Tyler Dallman

Tyler Dallman : Program Director

Program Director

Tyler Dallmanprog@wsum.wisc.edu
890-4845

Program Director oversees all content broadcasted over the air. She is in charge of making the show schedule and generating daily logs for automated playlists.   Fun fact: when I was in kindergarten I got my head stuck in a chair and the janitor had to saw me out.

Ben Farrell : Music Director

Music Director

Ben Farrell

Ben Farrell : Music Director

Music Director

Ben Farrellmusic@wsum.wisc.edu
262-1206

The Music Director oversees the circulation of music coming into the station and maintains the digital and physical music library. Send your music to her to be heard on WSUM! Fun Fact: My mom was the high school librarian. I hated it. She knew everything.

Andrew Buttle : Web Designer

Web Designer

Andrew Buttle

Andrew Buttle : Web Designer

Web Designer

Andrew Buttlemedia@wsum.wisc.edu
890-2435

The Web Designer runs and updates both front end and the back end of the website. Keeping up to date with all the latest releases, shows, and festivals.

Teresa Yen : Production Director

Production Director

Teresa Yen

Teresa Yen : Production Director

Production Director

Teresa Yenprod@wsum.wisc.edu
2621864

The Production Director of WSUM is responsible for maintaining the station identity as displayed in station promos, PSAs, legal IDs, underwriting and sponsorship announcements and other on-air station identification.

Hannah Goldberg : Promotions Director

Promotions Director

Hannah Goldberg

Hannah Goldberg : Promotions Director

Promotions Director

Hannah Goldbergpromo@wsum.wisc.edu
890-2435

The Promotions Director of WSUM maintains and improves all aspects of promoting WSUM according to its vision, mission, and goals. Contact Promotions for information about ticket giveaways and promotional opportunities.

Will Kenneally : News Director

News Director

Will Kenneally

Will Kenneally : News Director

News Director

Will Kenneallynews@wsum.wisc.edu

The News Director runs WSUM's News Team. They produce our newscasts that air at 5 and 6 PM every weekday. They also coordinate a team of station members who write news articles for the website.

Ashley Evers : Community Outreach Director

Community Outreach Director

Ashley Evers

Ashley Evers : Community Outreach Director

Community Outreach Director

Ashley Everscommunity@wsum.wisc.edu
261-9786

The WSUM Community Outreach Coordinator is a liaison position responsible for ensuring that WSUM is fulfilling the part of its mission statement having to do with serving the community on and off campus.

Allison Hartwig : Creative Director

Creative Director

Allison Hartwig

Allison Hartwig : Creative Director

Creative Director

Allison Hartwigcreative@wsum.wisc.edu
890-2435

The Creative Director coordinates the station's branding and merchandise needs. Creative also manages all of the content, video, and art that WSUM creates for social media, print, and apparel.

Zack Shapiro : Assistant Tech Director

Assistant Tech Director

Zack Shapiro

Zack Shapiro : Assistant Tech Director

Assistant Tech Director

Zack Shapirolive@wsum.wisc.edu
262-1864

The Assistant Technical Director is in charge of maintaining and setting up the equipment for bands that come into the station and local UW-Madison events.

Alyssa Hui : Administrative Specialist

Administrative Specialist

Alyssa Hui

Alyssa Hui : Administrative Specialist

Administrative Specialist

Alyssa Huiadminspec@wsum.wisc.edu

The Administrative Specialist performs clerical duties and completes special projects under the General Manager, Dave Black.

Quinn Fetterly : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Quinn Fetterly

Quinn Fetterly : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Quinn Fetterlytraffic@wsum.wisc.edu

The Traffic Director fulfills clerical duties, greets visitors, gives tours of the station, and completes special projects assigned by the general manager.

Jocelyn Ostrowski : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Jocelyn Ostrowski

Jocelyn Ostrowski : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Jocelyn Ostrowskitraffic@wsum.wisc.edu

The Traffic Director fulfills clerical duties, greets visitors, gives tours of the station, and completes special projects assigned by the general manager.

Jack Swanson : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Jack Swanson

Jack Swanson : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Jack Swansontraffic@wsum.wisc.edu

The Traffic Director fulfills clerical duties, greets visitors, gives tours of the station, and completes special projects assigned by the general manager.

Izzi Bavis : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Izzi Bavis

Izzi Bavis : Traffic Director

Traffic Director

Izzi Bavistraffic@wsum.wisc.edu

The Traffic Director fulfills clerical duties, greets visitors, gives tours of the station, and completes special projects assigned by the general manager.